RSS

An Update: Where are the Sequels?

12 Jan

update

Hello there-

I’ve received a few emails/comments/messages asking this question so instead of replying individually to everyone, I’m going to do a blog update. :)

I want to thank everyone who asked about or has been curious about the sequels for being interested in reading more of my works.

I currently have a few series/sagas going, most of which have at least 2 stories written. The only saga with one story thus far is the Warrior saga. Moonlight has two stories: TBM and Colorblind, Dark Gods have two: Fallen and Bound, Gangs of New York (G.O.N.Y) – Double Dragon has two: The Masseuse and The Dragon.

On how many stories per sequel I’m anticipating: 

For Warrior: I anticipate a total of 3 stories: about the 3 princesses. You already have Warrior. Next up is Isolde’s story.

For Moonlight: I currently anticipate at least 5 stories, concerning various characters to whom you were already introduced. Some of these characters include Max, Drew, Raoul, Sloan, Cassie, Alex.

For the Dark Gods: I currently anticipate at least 3 stories. The next story is Moros’s.

*Sidenote*: The Moonlight and Dark Gods sagas run parallel to each other. That will be apparent in Moros’s story.

For The Gangs of New York (G.O.N.Y) – Double Dragon: I anticipate one more book for Ramsey/Jezebel, which will close out that part of the saga, followed by 3 more stories concerning Jax, Bastian, and Vince.

On where the sequels are: Some are not written yet, some are a third done, some are half done, some are thee-fourths done, but they aren’t ready yet or I would have already released them to you. :) I’m a big stickler for a good, fleshed-out story so even if the story is complete, and I don’t believe the story is ready, it may sit for a while until it’s ready to be told in a way that you deserve.

On why it’s taking so long to write sequel(s): You want the sequels, but you want sequels that complement the first story that you read. You don’t want shoddy, rushed work, and I wouldn’t give that to you for free, much less for a price. Additionally, I don’t really write short stories. I enjoy a full length novel so I strive to give my readers that. And last but not least, I am not a full time writer, just like many other writers. I am a currently a graduate student so I am constantly juggling school and writing. When I begin my career, I’ll be juggling writing and work. I am not using this as an excuse. I am simply telling you that “life” gets in the way of writing sometimes and it cannot be helped.

On why I’m publishing new stories when the sequels aren’t complete: Before I began publishing, I wrote numerous “free” stories for different websites. I still have stories available for free on this website (A Summer to Remember, Under Her Spell, etc.) Most of the stories you view as “new” were written years ago (for ex. TBM was written in 2008) but have only recently been published. My Library is filled with complete, unpublished stories that are waiting their turn for release, and when I haven’t updated in a while, I usually release those to “tide” my readers over.

On whether publishing stories that have sequels is a marketing ploy: I can assure you it is not. When I sit down to write a story, I have a scene in my head, a bunch of talking characters, and my laptop. I don’t think of creating a series. I think of writing one story, because serieses are harder than stand-alones. Remembering the details of one story is hard enough. Imagine remembering the details of five. O.o. Warrior and Taken By Moonlight were supposed to be stand-alone stories until secondary characters grew too big and demanded their own stories.

On when you can expect the next Warrior, Moonlight, Dark God, G.O.N.Y. sequel: I do not give ETAs until I’ve completed the story simply because I don’t want to disappoint. As I said, I am not a full time writer so there are times that writing has to come second to school. What I can promise you is that I’ll keep you updated on what’s happening with the sequels.

On what’s happening right now with the sequels: Currently, the sequel to Taken By Moonlight is being written. Everything else has taken a back seat as I write Drew’s story. As TBM was written with secondary characters, so will the sequel, and you will of course see what your favorite werewolf/druid (Conall and Vivienne) couple have been up to.

On when the older, unpublished stories will come out: As soon as a few more sequels are released, I’ll get to the unpublished stories. I know many are asking for When Irish Are Watching and I would have already released it except its not ready. I have to do serious rewrites for that story. I’m not changing the story just making it more realistic. A few have asked about True Colors and I’m not sure I’ll be publishing that story. I may release it as a free read. Some have asked about the missing Christmas story and that will release next Christmas. :)

Thank you for reading and being patient. I hope that answered most of your questions. If not, please feel free to comment and ask. Again, I’m also available on Facebook and in my Facebook group, where many of these questions are answered quickly.

-Vi

 
37 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

37 responses to “An Update: Where are the Sequels?

  1. Hezie

    January 12, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    Waiting patiently for the next book in the TBM series.

     
    • violetted

      January 12, 2014 at 2:44 pm

      :)

       
      • Hezie

        January 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

        And the Dragon of course 😁😜

         
  2. Kia

    January 12, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    Violette, one thing I LOVE about you as a writer is that you value quality over quantity. I’m confident that when your next book drops it will be worth it! :)

     
  3. mitzimae

    January 13, 2014 at 11:38 am

    hi Is there any way to get a password. I read under her spell on lit but i need a password to read it on the blog. HELP

     
  4. Sirralia

    January 13, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for the update. I for one appreciate that you actually write full novels with such engaging characters which is why you have fans clamoring for the next book. I’ve just finished reading Dragon, loooooved it. Can’t wait to read Drews story, till then I’ll just have to reread TBM. Oh and Happy Belated New Year.

     
    • violetted

      January 13, 2014 at 5:26 pm

      Thank you! :) Drew’s story is in the works.

       
  5. Tiffanynh

    January 14, 2014 at 12:51 am

    LOVED A New Year’s Surprise!! Any word on when we might expect a follow-up focusing on Zaire and Gavin and that whole story??

    Thanks!

     
    • violetted

      January 15, 2014 at 12:07 am

      Hi there – Thanks! Gavin and Zaire’s story has been in the works for a while so as soon as TBM and Ram/Jez-Book 3 is written, I’ll have a schedule for that story.

       
  6. keys

    January 14, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    i don’t care what you release just keep making great stories for me to read. it can be sequels or stand alones just keep making stuff for me to read. cause I read pretty fast so just keep em coming. thank you

     
  7. monuorah

    January 14, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    Quick question – will we ever learn more about Armand and his life after Julia’s death? So bummed that she died but I want a romance for him and Etienne.

    Also, will there be a follow up to Gavin and Zaire?

    Sorry I’m not using titles but at this point, your characters are so real to me, I’m just referring to them by name lol.

     
    • violetted

      January 15, 2014 at 12:08 am

      Armand is one of those characters that resonate with people so absolutely. You will be seeing Armand Arnaud again. :)

       
  8. jazzintea

    January 14, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    Thanks for the update also for valuing your readers enough to “flesh” out your stories not just release them for a quick $$$ also for giving us full length books to read nothing irks me more that playing full price for an ebook only to receive a short story were the story is rushed

     
  9. Koree

    January 18, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks so much for the update! I’ve been patiently awaiting Drew’s story for awhile now and I know it’s going to be good! I’m a college student too so I understand how school gets in the way. Thanks for these amazing stories and best of luck in school.

     
  10. tonya

    February 2, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Hi I am a new avid fan. I was in love with taken by moonlight. I also read under the crescent moon which I love as well. However I am patiently waiting for more juicy reads from the moonlight series.

     
  11. Stacey

    February 3, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    Thank you for the update! I am so excited and entwined in Connal and Viv’s story I can’t wait!

     
  12. J

    February 5, 2014 at 1:10 am

    Glad to hear that you are working on drew and max’s story. They were my fav couple in tbm. Will be on the lookout for this

     
  13. Eliza

    February 16, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Thank you for providing an update. Your stories are so wonderful, that we get impaient for a sequel. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for TBM and the Warriors sequels. I understand the more work/time you put in the better the story.

     
  14. stephy

    February 24, 2014 at 12:08 am

    Thanks for the updated :) Will we be seeing Xorax again?

     
    • violetted

      February 24, 2014 at 3:03 am

      Lol. That is such an interesting questions because he made one appearance. :) Maybe.

       
  15. Sheryce Bradshaw

    April 14, 2014 at 4:30 am

    Any release date for sequel to TBM??

     
    • violetted

      April 20, 2014 at 4:50 am

      Not yet. :) But subscribe and you’ll be the first to know.

       
  16. Vanessa

    May 10, 2014 at 2:41 am

    I love your stories and was wondering if you planned on finishing Under her Spell?

     
  17. Dee Darling

    May 15, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    Ms. Dubrinsky, I am an admirer of your work. My favorite was Taken By Moonlight and I am patiently awaiting for the sequel which I am hoping will not only include Drew’s story but will also include Max’s story as well. I am a true romantic and I would like to see Drew and Max together. Keep up the great work.

     
  18. danakm24

    May 26, 2014 at 2:19 am

    The one that seems to have dropped of postings and comment is Enchanting the Flower. It never finished anywhere, in any form and you haven’t commented on it in forever. What happened?

     
    • violetted

      July 18, 2014 at 11:38 pm

      Hi there, ETF is not finished. It will be though. :)

       
  19. Jewel

    July 19, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Hi Violette I am a fan of your work and would love to know if you will be continuing with the Colorbind characters. I personally would love it.

     
  20. Sheryce Bradshaw

    August 20, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Anymore update release for TBM 2?? Please need a update, going crazy here :)

     
  21. Kandis Barrow

    August 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    You know I’m a huge fan of your books, but please say it ain’t so. You’re not pairing Drew and Max, are you? I’m sobbing here. Please, place Drew with Lucien. :)

     
  22. Kandis Barrow

    August 20, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Okay. :) :) ;)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

